How the Turkey Became Kosher
Sharon, MA 02067
Believe it or not, there was actually a fascinating historic controversy about whether the turkey is a kosher bird or not. Being a bird that was only discovered by Europeans in the 15th century, the Rabbis of the time had a fascinating dispute about whether the Turkey should be classified as kosher. After all, ostriches and eagles are not kosher birds. In fact there are some today who do not eat turkey for this very reason.
Please join Rabbi Yitzi Weiner for a very interesting discussion about the controversy regarding the turkey's kosher status, and the process that was used to determine its status today. Enjoy a delicious breakfast of bagels, lox, danishes, juice, coffee and fruit.