On June 4, 2019, Epstein Hillel School will hold its annual meeting at 7:30 p.m. and will present Ariel Berger of Marblehead with the Ernie Haas Presidential Award. The award is named in memory of Ernie Haas z”l, a loyal and active supporter of the school for over 40 years.

In his first year as a board member, Berger was invited by Jerry Somers and Robert Salter to become a member of the Committee for Excellence. According to EHS president Mark Farber, “He showed such leadership and commitment to the challenges facing the school that he was soon asked to consider taking on the role of board president at Epstein Hillel, then Cohen Hillel Academy. We were thrilled when he accepted.”


Berger worked tirelessly on behalf of the school and together with head of school Amy Gold, they secured a $5 million gift from Arthur J. Epstein Hillel to rename the school. Gold deeply appreciates his attention to detail, eye on the strategic needs of the school and tenacity moving things forward.

Added Farber: “He so clearly wants and is willing to work to attain the best for the school. He is 150% in the game and is so well-deserving of this recognition.”

At the annual meeting, Michele Cohen, Erin Cullen, Michael Silverman and Yulia Solomon will be formally inducted for a three-year term on the Board of Directors. Additionally, Aaron Lawee ‘97 will be presented with the 2019 Adam Madorsky Social Justice Award and will be recognized for his efforts.

The annual meeting is open to the entire community followed by a dessert reception. RSVPs appreciated; email jrosen@epsteinhillel.org or call 781-639-2880.

This post has been contributed by a third party. The opinions, facts and any media content are presented solely by the author, and JewishBoston assumes no responsibility for them. Want to add your voice to the conversation? Publish your own post here. MORE