Concert: Migration & Revolution with Rimsky Korsakov String Quartet

October 21, 2017 Somerville $28.00 - $50.00 0
(Courtesy photo)
(Courtesy photo)

Taking place 100 years, almost to the day, after the Bolshevik Revolution of October 1917, this special concert honors the memory of all those displaced and affected by it. It features compositions by Russian composers Sergey Rachmaninov and Aleksandr Gretchaninov, who emigrated to the U.S., as well as a rarely performed quartet by the Soviet Jewish composer Moshe Weinberg, a disciple and friend of Dimitri Shostakovich. The renowned Rimsky Korsakov String Quartet performs their powerful music in the remarkable aesthetic setting of the Museum of Modern Renaissance in Somerville.

Sergey Rachmaninov: Unfinished Quartet No. 1, Romance and Scherzo 
Mieczyslaw (Moshe) Weinberg: String Quartet n. 13, Op. 118
Alexander Gretchaninov: String Quartet n. 4, Op. 124

Founded in 1939, the Rimsky Korsakov String Quartet is the oldest in Russia, and is regarded as a monument to Russian musical history. The present members – Mikhail Bondarev (violin), Ekaterina Belisova (violin), Alexei Popov (viola) and Anton Andreev (cello) – are all graduates of the prestigious Saint Petersburg Conservatory. Since 1989, the group has been actively touring abroad in Europe, and more recently in the U.S. and Canada, and has made appearances at numerous renowned music festivals throughout Europe and America, and consistently receive outstanding reviews.

Doors open at 6:30 p.m.; concert beings at 7 p.m.

+ More... - Less...
Fact Sheet
Saturday, October 21, 2017, 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
* Registration closes on October 21st at 5:00 pm
Museum of Modern Renaissance
115 College Ave
Somerville, MA 02144
$28.00 Early Bird
$32.50 General Admission
$45.00 BR360 Member VIP
$50.00 VIP
Filed Under:

More From...

More In...

More At...